problem setting up wireless

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
justwantin

problem setting up wireless

Post by justwantin »

I have no experience at all with wireless and am at a loss to get wireless working on my acer aspire one netbook. I am using a tplink usb wireless dongle that has worked for a day on an install on slack 13 as an experiment.

I have not edited /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf but using a wicd setup I see my network but cannot connect. I am using a fixed IP and as far as I can tell my settings in wicd are correct including my preshared key, however on trying to connect I am told the connection failed because of a bad password. The password is correct and works on two other machines running xp.

Can anyone give me some hints as to where I should be looking for the problem
Merit?
None whatsoever!

www.turtlespond.net
4-stroke

Re: problem setting up wireless

Post by 4-stroke »

I think you have the same chipset as i do.
Try opening a terminal and as root run this command:

Code: Select all

iwconfig wlan0 power off
Then try to connect with wicd again, and see what happens.
justwantin

Post by justwantin »

My chipset is a railink rt2501/rt2573.

After turning power off and trying to connect again with wicd I still cannot connect.

I am sure this is a configuration problem. For one thing I do not have wpa supplicant set up but I had not seen it mentioned in my readings on wicd.

I'm now going to try to set this up using iwconfig which I understand will require me to have wpa supplicant set up.

My concern now is that I will now have some previous configuration interfering with getting this set up, for example wicd.
Merit?
None whatsoever!

www.turtlespond.net
4-stroke

Post by 4-stroke »

justwantin wrote: I'm now going to try to set this up using iwconfig which I understand will require me to have wpa supplicant set up.
You shouldn't have to do that, wicd works great.